RSS News Feed
RSS News Feed
See Maps
  > Quick Links
  > Airport Information
  > Airport Facilities
  > Shopping & Duty Free
  > Before You Leave
  > Getting To The Airport
  > City Directions
  > Local Directory
 
 

There are different ways to buy Leeds Airport flights and many different places to buy. Read this helpful Leeds Airport Flights guide so you get a good deal.

Leeds Bradford Flights and Bookings ...

In 1997 the EU reduced the regulations on airlines and flights so value for money and greater choice were available to the average traveller. As a result the budget airline boom took off leaving us all able to get a great flight deal.

So when shopping around for Leeds Bradford flights and bookings make sure you've tried our following tips, in this Leeds Airport Flights guide below, to get a great deal.

 

Leeds Airport Flights Information ...

 
When planning to buy Leeds Airport flights do your homework first. Make sure you know as much about your travelling plans as possible so you can get proper quotes including rough dates and your destination airport.
You can also use the time to research unofficial information about the place you are travelling to - try
 
  • Newspaper travel sections
  • Guidebooks and their websites
  • Your destination's tourist board website
It can also help knowing what airlines fly from Leeds Airport - use our Terminal Information area.
 
 

Buy Leeds Airport Flights ...

   
 
General Tips
   
 
Prices to plane ticket prices change every day so it's worth taking a couple of days shopping around. When shopping around check the travel guides in weekend newspapers, travel websites and even teletext.
 
 
Always get as many quotes as possible, in the time you have, but also, if you get a good deal then don't risk losing it by waiting.

Another great way of saving money to reconsider your travel plans - for example if you can fly on a different day than planned, or to a different airport. This is because certain days of the week along with times of the day and even smaller airports can be cheaper.
 
If you're going to try getting a quote from a travel agent, or even an airline direct, call them early in the day as possible so they are less busy and will have more time to look around for good deals.
 
Nested Tickets
 
Another way of saving money on a flight is buying what's known as nested tickets.

This works only when a regular midweek fare is over twice the price of an excursion fare (includes a Saturday stopover) to the same destination.

For example, you have been quoted £150 for a flight from Leeds to Belfast return going out on a Monday and coming back on the Friday of the same week but you can find a return that requires you to stay for a weekend and is priced £75 or less, it is worth buying a nested ticket.

Buy a £75 excursion return ticket leaving on Monday and coming back late in the next week. Then buy another £75 excursion return ticket with the outgoing flight from Belfast on the Friday of your return to Leeds. The return journey of this second ticket should be dated early in the next week.

This nested ticket option means you've bought two return flights for the price of one! Excellent if you are a regular traveller. If you think this is a good option for you ask your travel agent for help on purchasing nested tickets.
 
Buying Split Tickets
 
And another way to save money is to buy your Leeds Airport flight as a split ticket - this means your journey is broken up by changing at an interim airport instead of flying direct.

Your travel agent can help you buy split tickets for flights from Leeds Bradford Airport.
 
Budget/Low Cost Airlines
 
Budget/low cost airlines need you to book as early as possible to get the best price.

You also need to book online. And don't forget that you also need to add on taxes, and a return journey, on the advertised prices. So a £1 flight might end up costing £20 but even so, it's still a hugely cheap way of buying flights.
   
 
   

Tips On Legroom & Delays ...

   
 
By following one or two of these rules could mean you avoid some delays and get a little more legroom too!
   
 
  • Book with a major operators who has their own airline, like Thomson, and you could pre-book your seats for a small fee

  • What kind of plane are you flying on - look to see what seat you'd prefer and see if you can book it

  • Try and book a flight that's one of the first to go in the morning, or the last to depart at night - these are less likely to be delayed

  • A direct flight is also less likely to suffer a delay so try and avoid flights where you have to change
   
 
   

Upgrades...

   
 
Upgrades are rare so your best beat in getting a free upgrade is if your airline ask for passengers to volunteer to be 'bumped'.

This is when the flight is over booked and some passenger need to travel on the next available flight.

If the next flight isn't for several hours or more then ask for an upgrade. You should also be offered travel vouchers to spend in the airport and an airport lounge pass.

Or, if the flight is just an hour or so away then you'll likely to get a pass into the executive lounge.
   
 
   

Leeds Flights & Bookings Through Travel Agents...

   
 
A travel agent will be paid a commission by the airlines when they have booked you onto their flight. So, seeing as they will get money, push for money off your flight!

When speaking to the travel agent ask about offers that are being released later that week, just in case one of these up and coming deals is better suited to your needs.

When you get a quote make sure you are given precise details - and check for any special offer's small print.
 
Book Direct - save money
 
  • See if, as an employee of a large company you can get discounts on travel - likewise if you are a member of a union as often both get benefits for the quantity of travel they book

  • Book your brochure holidays direct and you are more than likely to save money on your holiday - especially luxury holidays

  • If you are flexible - mostly backpackers take this option - then consider being a flight courier. By carrying an item in your baggage for a business you can save at least £100

  • Book your European city break and be sure to save money - even transfers can be booked online
 
   

Leeds Flights & Bookings Online ...

   
 

If you want to book your Leeds Airport travel online check out sites like Expedia - they'll tell you what airlines go to what destination, when and for how much.

When booking online always make 100% sure the travel is covered by Atol (Air Travel Organisers' Licensing). Stick to the big UK-based sites. Always make sure the website's server is secure by looking for a padlock symbol on your browser.

Online bookings are confirmed by an email. Print out the email and keep it safe. It's likely to be your flight ticket and even your accommodation voucher.

Have a look at the site Priceline.co.uk that allows you to bid on a price for various flights. Airlines will sell you a ticket if you have made a reasonable offer and if they can. Don't bid really low as it will be rejected straight away. To be successful you normally need to bid around 20-30% lower than the regular advertised fares. A great way to save money but do check for any small print that could restrict your travel.

Also log onto www.ukfrenzy.co.uk regularly. This website. This site monitors the whole of the internet for any coupon deals and offers on flights, travel and accommodation.

And look on travel newsgroups too - see if anyone has spotted a good deal. Go to groups.google.com and start by searching for "rec.travel" or "rec.travel.air". If you have a question don't be scared to ask other users for advice because they will help you.

   
 
   

Links To Online Bookings For Fare Searchers & Travel Agents ...

   
 
Get a quote, even buy, online but clicking on any of these links.
   
 
Travel Agent Website
Air Net www.airnet.co.uk
Bargain Holidays www.bargainholidays.com
Cheap Flights www.cheapflights.com
Deck Chair www.deckchair.com
E Bookers www.ebookers.com
Expedia www.expedia.co.uk
Fly Now www.flynow.com
Last Minute www.lastminute.com
Major Travel www.majortravel.co.uk
Opodo www.opodo.co.uk
Sky Deals www.skydeals.co.uk
STA www.statravel.co.uk
Teletext www.teletextholidays.co.uk
The First Resort www.thefirstresort.com
Thomas Cook www.thomascook.com
Trail Finders www.trailfinders.co.uk
 
 
 

Links To Online Bookings For Airlines ...

   
 
Find out what deal you can get by going to the airline direct - click on these links for quotes, to buy online, or for further unofficial information.
 
Airline Website
Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.ie
Virgin www.virginatlantic.com
Ryan Air www.ryanair.ie
British Airways www.ba.com
Air France www.airfrance.com
Air India www.airindia.com
Air Jamaica www.airjamaica.com
Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.uk
Alitalia www.alitalia.co.uk
American Airlines www.americanairlines.com
BMI www.bmibaby.co.uk
Thomson Fly www.thomsonfly.com
Buzz Away www.buzzaway.com
Cathay Pacific www.cathaypacific.com
Continental www.continental.com
Delta www.delta.com
Easy Jet www.easyjet.com
Elal www.elal.com
Emirates www.emirates.com
Iberia www.iberia.com
Iceland Air www.icelandair.co.uk
Kenya Airways www.kenya-airways.com
Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com.my
Monarch www.monarch-airlines.com
Qantas www.qantas.com.au
Scandinavian www.scandinavian.net
Singapore Air www.singaporeair.com
Turkish Airlines www.turkishairlines.com
United Airlines www.unitedairlines.com
   
 
   
   
   
   
   
> How can we help?
> Airport Information
 
 
 
 
.................................................................................................................................................
Copyright © Helpme Ltd.